Call the Sean Hannity Show:

800.941.7326  3-6 pm ET Mon-Fri



Speaker Boehner

The House has elected Rep. John Boehner (R-OH) as the 61st Speaker of the House.

Boehner is the first Speaker from Ohio since Nick Longworth in the 1920s, for whom the Longworth House Office Building is named.

The vote was 241 to 173.

Nineteen Democrats defected from their party and voted for other candidates or voted present.

Rep. Heath Shuler (D-NC), who challenged Pelosi for Minority Leader, received 11 votes.

Also receiving votes were Reps. Steny Hoyer (D-MD) Jim Cooper (D-TN), Dennis Cardoza (D-CA), Jim Costa (D-CA), Marcy Kaptur (D-OH) and John Lewis (GA).

Rep. Sanford Bishop (D-GA) voted present.

This was the largest number of defections for any formal candidate for Speaker since January, 1997. That year, nine Republicans voted against House Speaker Newt Gingrich (R-GA). Four voted for another member and five members voted present.

Rep. Peter DeFazio (D-OR) was absent and did not vote.

DeFazio office did not immediately respond to questions why he was not present.