Texas Governor Gregg Abbott has signed a bill that effectively bans ‘sanctuary cities’ from defying federal immigration guidelines, demanding all members of law enforcement detain suspects they believe to be in the country illegally, reports Fox News.

The new legislation allows police officers to request proof of a person's immigration status, and requires them to detain individuals suspected of being in the country illegally and notify federal border agents. 

The law penalizes cities and counties that continue to defy the Trump administration’s immigration policies, imposing a fine of $250,000 per day. Law enforcement officials that refuse to cooperate can also face criminal charges, financial penalties, and even jail time.

The Governor posted a photo of the signing ceremony on social media, adding there will be “stiff penalties for violators.”

"Isn't this quasi-insane that we have to pass a law to force law enforcement officers to comply with the law?" Governor Abbott told Fox News.

"If you were here, regardless of your status, and you have not committed a crime that makes you subject to an ICE detainer, you have no problems whatsoever," he added.